Welcome to our blog!

A little over a year ago, I was lucky enough to be contacted by Nikki Haw. We were both fans of this book-related blog, and after reading a post on that site (and then a book that was recommended), she contacted me. We exchanged a few emails and became twitter friends. I offered to send her some books that she wanted, and being a Dallasite, I thought, hey! Shipping to SA can’t be so bad. I mean, San Antonio’s just four hours away, right? No biggie.

She jumped on the offer for me to send these books… and was then, like, “I live in South Africa. That’s still okay?”

Well, my world got a lot bigger that day. I felt pretty fricking ignorant, but I’m not too proud to expose my ignorance. We split the shipping cost, because that’s just how we roll. We share a lot of things. We’re 9,000 miles apart, but we share a lot.

Over the past year, I’ve made friends with an incredibly intelligent and creative and witty woman in a small (I think) town on another continent. She has great book and music recommendations that I can easily verify… and then she talks to me about foods I’ve never heard of. I do the same for her. I don’t know about her, but someday I want to find my way to that little town 9,000 miles away and try a cheeseburger pie.

Because that’s how I roll.

We’ve been tweeting back and forth about things that interest us for months, and we finally decided that other people might find our differences (and similarities) entertaining, too.  Our main topics (if you hadn’t figured it out by the blog title) will be food and books, but if Nikki doesn’t give her two cents (or rands… no, wait! I just learned they have cents in SA, too!) on music every once in awhile, I may curl up in a fetal position and cry uncontrollably… because the girl has AMAZING taste in and knowledge of music. In fact, I’m listening to an artist she recommended right now.  (Ed Sheeran, if you care.)  Maybe she’ll even do a blog playlist for us (hint, hint, Nikki).

So as Effie Trinket might say, Welcome, Welcome! We’re happy you’ve stopped by!

4 thoughts on “Welcome to our blog!

  1. Pingback: Mexican Food. Who knew? |

  2. Lori, I also love talking to Nikki all about South Africa and her life. It has been very interesting and I love having so many of my preconceptions just tossed out. This blogging world is quite the place and the people I have met here have just been amazing. We are all very lucky to have found each other. Good luck!

  3. Pingback: Music Rec: Shinedown | Read It & Eat

Leave a comment